On June 19, 1971, The Philippine Congress enacted REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6235 known as the “ANTI-HIJACKING LAW”,  an act prohibiting certain acts inimical to Civil Aviation and for other purposes making it unlawful for any person to compel a change in the course of an aircraft of Philippine Registry or seize or usurp the control thereof, while it is in flight.


On April 28, 1976, In compliance with the MONTREAL CONVENTION of 1971 and the Supplementary Protocol to the said convention, The Philippine Government issued Presidential Letter Of Instruction (PLOI) NO. 399 creating The National Action Committee on Anti Hijacking (NACAH) with the Secretary Of National Defense as Chairman

On June 1, 1976, The Armed Forces of The Philippines Aviation Security Command (AFP AVSECOM) was organized pursuant to Letter Of Instruction 3/76 as the implementing arm of NACAH with the primary mission of ensuring the continued and uninterrupted operations of civil aviation industry in the country.

On March 1, 1986, AVSECOM was later renamed Philippine Air Force Security Command (PAFSECOM) by virtue of GO NO. 37 issued by GHQ, AFP.


On December 31, 1990, with the enactment of Republic Act 6975, otherwise known as the Act establishing the PNP under a reorganized DILG and for other purposes, the chairmanship of NACAH was transferred to the DILG.

On July 1, 1991, the mission and functions of the defunct PAFSECOM were transferred to the PNP. thus, the PNP assumed the responsibility of ensuring the uninterrupted and secured operations of the civil aviation industry in the country through its Police Aviation Security Command (PASCOM)

On September 12, 1996 PASCOM was later renamed PNP Aviation Security Group (PNP ASG) by virtue of GHQ, PNP Memo Circular No. 96-01.

On August 6, 2007, GO NO. 07-09 was issued by NHQ, PNP amending the acronym PNP ASG to PNP AVSEGROUP.